Guilford County Sheriff

In unofficial results, Republican incumbent Sheriff BJ Barnes defeated challenger Danny Rogers by more than 10 percentage points.

Guilford County Commission

Democrat Kay Cashion handily defeated challenger Larry Proctor for the at-large seat by 13 percentage points with 97 percent of precincts reporting.

In District 1, Carlvena Foster defeated Eugene Lester III with nearly 75 percent of the vote.

Guilford County Clerk of Court

After defeating incumbent David Churchill in the primary, Democrat Lisa Johnson-Tonkins bested Republican Janet Wallace by 10 percentage points.

Guilford County School Board

In the at-large race, incumbent Nancy Routh pulled more than 70 percent of the vote to defeat challenger Jack Kraemer.

In District 4, incumbent Alan Duncan doubled up on challenger Monique Morgan with 63 percent of the vote.

US House District 12

Democrat Alma Adams won in a landslide over Vince Coakley, filling the term vacated by Mel Watt and the next full term as well.

NC Senate District 26

Senate Majority Leader Phil Berger retained his seat with 60 percent of the vote against Democrat challenger William Osborne.

NC House District 29

Incumbent Republican Jon Hardister got 60 percent of the vote against Democrat Scott Jones, who earned 37 percent, and Libertarian Paul Meinhart, who took in 3.5 percent.

NC House District 61

Incumbent Republican John Faircloth took in 67 percent of the vote against Ron Weatherford.

NC House District 62

Republican John Blust was able to defend his seat against Sal Leone with more than 62 percent of the vote.

1/4-cent sales-tax referendum

More than half of Guilford County voters — 57 percent — voted against a ¼-cent sales-tax increase to address shortfalls in the Guilford County Schools budget.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.