Nancy Vaughan, Marikay Abuzuaiter and Jamal Fox (l-r) (courtesy photo)


Fresh from a federal court ruling last week maintaining the city of Greensboro’s current election system for this year’s municipal election, the first day of filing was heavily dominated by incumbents.

Mayor Nancy Vaughan filed for reelection, along with Yvonne Johnson and Marikay Abuzuaiter in the at-large race. District 1 Councilwoman Sharon Hightower, District 2 Councilman Jamal Fox and District 4 Councilwoman Nancy Hoffmann also filed for reelection.

Former councilwoman Dianne Bellamy-Small filed in District 1, as expected, in what amounts to a rematch of the 2013 election.

The only other challenger to file so far is Thessa Pickett, an advocate for people experiencing homelessness, in District 2. Pickett’s Facebook profile identifies her as the CEO and chairwoman at MCS Ventures.

At-large Councilman Mike Barber, District 3 Councilman Justin Outling and District 5 Councilman Tony Wilkins have not filed to date.

Johnson had previously indicated that she didn’t plan to run under a redistricting plan approved by the state General Assembly, but US District Court Judge Catherine Eagles upheld a temporary injunction to halt the law through the next election. Under the redistricting plan approved by the General Assembly, Johnson would have had to run against Fox, and Hightower would have had to run against Outling.

Filing remains open through noon on Aug. 7.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.